Skip to main content

 Funded by the European Union

NanED Joint Initial Meeting

29-30 November 2021

On the 29th and 30th of November 2021, the NanED project had its Joint Initial Meeting (JIM). The meeting should have been held in Italy at Pisa, but due to Covid-19 issues and to the fact that most of the ESRs hadn't started, we decided to organize it as an online event. Having the meeting online allowed all 13 ESRs to participate in the JIM.

The meeting was conceived in the following way. The first day was used as a 'get to know each other' and to introduce to the ESRs, all the different aspects of the projects: the structure and organism as well as the management of the project. The second day was devoted to a scientific overview of the work packages and the state of the art in the research fields of the different ESRs projects.

Here you can find the agenda and all the scientific presentations together with the videos recorded during the meeting


Day 1

Getting together
09:15 - 10:30

Mauro Gemmi (IIT): Project overview

10:30 - 11:00

Coffee Break

11:00 - 11:30

Philippe Boullay (CNRS): Training and secondment.

11:30 - 12:30

ESR presentation

  • ESR1
    Moussa Faye
  • ESR2
    Vincentia Emerson
  • ESR3
    Amirhossein Hajizadeh
  • ESR4
    Chintakindi Hrushikesh
  • ESR6
    Sameh Okasha
  • ESR8
    Laura Gemmrich
  • ESR9
    Marco Santucci
  • ESR10
    Lei Wang
  • ESR11
    Angelina Vypritskaia
  • ESR12
    Sara Passuti
  • ESR13
    Erica Cordero
  • ESR14
    Senek Matinyan
  • ESR15
    Amatassalam Ben Meriem

12:30 - 13:00

Hongyi Xu (SU): Communication and dissemination strategy

13:00 - 14:30


14:30 - 15:30

Partner Presentation

  • ASI
    Thorbjoern Schoenbeck

  • Eldico
    Gustavo Santiso-Quinones

  • NanoMEGAS
    Stavros Nicolopoulos

  • Rigaku
    Mark Benson

  • Tescan
    Dirk Vanderwal

  • Thermo
    Bart Buijsse

  • AstraZeneca
    Stefan Norberg

  • BASF
    Bernd Hinrichsen

  • Elettra
    Jasper Plaisier

  • eBIC
    Peijun Zhang

  • IUCr
    Brian McMahon

  • STFC
    David Waterman

15:30 - 16:30

ESR Committee / Consortium meeting (in separate virtual rooms)

16:30 - 17:00

Summary of Day 1. Q&A time.

Day 2

Scientific Overview
09:00 - 09:45

Mauro Gemmi (IIT): WP1 - 3D ED techniques

09:45 - 10:30

Xiaodong Zou (SU): Serial 3D ED

10:45 - 11:30

Lukas Palatinus (FZU): WP3 - Precise electron crystallography

11:30 - 12:15

Joke Hadermann (UA): In-situ 3D ED

12:15 - 13:00

Ute Kolb (JGU): 3D ED on defective materials

14:00 - 14:45

Jan Pieter Abrahams (UBA): WP2 – 3D ED on macromolecules

14:45 - 15:30

Hongyi Xu (SU): Structure-based drug discovery by 3D ED

15:30 - 16:15

Ute Kaiser and Tatiana Gorelik (UULM): WP4 – Electron crystallography of 2D materials

16:45 - 17:30

Philippe Boullay (CNRS): 3D ED on nanomaterials

17:30 - 18:15

Cheuk-Wai Tai (SU): Electron PDF studies